# NEENAH JOINT SCHOOL DISTRICT Board of Education

April 22, 2014

The meeting of the Board of Education was held in the Board room of the Administration Building on Tuesday, April 22, 2014.

President Scott Thompson called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. and ascertained that the meeting had been properly noticed on the District's web site and at each of the school buildings. Board members Jean Maurice Boyer, Betsy Ellenberger, Christopher Kunz (arrived at 6:36 p.m.), Kirk Leeser, John Lehman, Jeff Spoehr, Michelle Swardenski, Scott Thompson, student representative Luke Nelessen, and the following administrators were present: Mary Pfeiffer, District Administrator; Victoria Holt, Assistant District Administrator of Human Resources & Instructional Support Services; Steve Dreger, Assistant District Administrator of Business Services; Paul Hauffe, Director of Business Services; Jon Joch, Director of Revenue Enhancements & Business Services Support; Susan Nennig, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment; and Jim Strick, Communications Manager. The absence of Peter Kaul was excused. Diane Haug was present as Board Secretary/Deputy Clerk.

#### **OPEN FORUM**

As no one present wished to address the Board, President Thompson declared the open forum closed at 6:02 p.m.

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made by Betsy Ellenberger and seconded by Michelle Swardenski to approve the minutes of the April 8, 2014 regular meeting. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

#### STUDENT COUNCIL REPORT

Luke Nelessen...

- provided an update to recent and upcoming sports events.
- shared that state solo-ensemble festival will take place this Saturday at UW-Oshkosh.
- invited everyone present to the NHS Diversity Fair this Friday.
- shared results of the recent state forensics competition.
- stated that student council will be attending a conference in Madison this weekend.
- shared that AP tests will be taking place at NHS in the near future.

#### DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

District Administrator Pfeiffer...

- recognized NHS school newspaper Satellite staff for their success at the Northeastern Wisconsin Scholastic Press Association (NEWSPA) Spring Conference.
- thanked Kirk Leeser, outgoing Board member, for his service to the NJSD. President Thompson presented Mr. Leeser with a certificate from the Wisconsin Association of School Boards (WASB). Mr. Leeser thanked the community, Board members, and administration for the opportunity to serve.

Board minutes are available on the district's web site: www.neenah.k12.wi.us

- welcomed and introduced new Board member Margaret Murphy.
- invited everyone to a retirement celebration honoring all of our retiring staff on Friday, May 2, at 4:00 at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk with a program to begin at 4:45.
- introduced April Keepers, principal of Coolidge School, who introduced staff from Coolidge and shared information related to their math and literacy school goals and progress (Exhibit 4-E-14).

# OFFICIAL ACTION

Motion was made by Jean Maurice Boyer and seconded by Betsy Ellenberger to approve the items under Consent Agenda as follows: 1. Employment of Personnel which includes a request for resignation of faculty (Donelle Anderson, kindergarten teacher at Wilson; Mary Jo Driessen, kindergarten teacher at Taft; Samantha Moeller, math support teacher at NHS; and Jeffrey Ponkratz, social studies teacher on military leave since October 2010); a resignation of support staff (Kim Gill, educational assistant/special education at Tullar); and a request for employment of faculty (Bridget Perry, Literacy Coordinator for the 2014-15 school year) (Exhibit 4-F-14); 2. Presentation of Accounts (Schedule of Vouchers No. 9 dated March 31, 2014 reflecting revenues of \$8,620,764.31 and expenditures of \$5,295,417.72) (Exhibit 4-G-14); and 3. Fourth Year Math Elective Credit (Exhibit 4-H-14). The motion carried by unanimous vote.

### 2014-15 STAFFING PROPOSAL

Vicky Holt, Assistant District Administrator of Human Resources & Instructional Support Services, and Steve Dreger, Assistant District Administrator of Learning & Leadership, presented updated information regarding the 2014-15 staffing report (Exhibit 4-I-14) and answered questions of Board members. Discussion ensued regarding the Magnet Program and kindergarten numbers. Mr. Spoehr thanked Sue Nennig for her work in obtaining a partial grant to support a guest Chinese instructor for the 2014-15 school year. Motion was made by Scott Thompson to approve the 2014-15 staffing proposal as presented. The motion was seconded by Jeff Spoehr and carried by unanimous vote.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Dr. Pfeiffer shared that the 2014 Employees of the Year will be announced at the end of the week and reminded everyone present of the reception on Wednesday, May 14, from 3:45 until 5:00 p.m. at Bridgewood Conference Center.

It was decided that Jeff Spoehr, Michelle Swardenski, and Scott Thompson will represent the Board of Education at NHS graduation this year.

#### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

Board members requested an overview of mental health initiatives and the summer Board/administrative retreat be added to future agenda items.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

President Thompson announced that it would be necessary to adjourn the regular meeting and to subsequently reconvene in closed session. Motion was made by Jean Maurice Boyer to adjourn and that the Board reconvene in closed session according to Wisconsin Statutes

Board minutes are available on the district's web site: www.neenah.k12.wi.us

19.85(1)(c)(g) for the purpose of approval of minutes of the April 8, 2014 regular closed session meeting, discussion of specific personnel, discussion of preliminary notice of nonrenewals, and litigation. The motion was seconded by Michelle Swardenski and carried by unanimous vote. The meeting adjourned at 6:59 p.m.

# **CLOSED SESSION**

The Board reconvened in closed session at 7:06 p.m. for the purpose of approval of minutes of the April 8, 2014 regular closed session meeting, discussion of specific personnel, discussion of preliminary notice of nonrenewals, and litigation.

# ADJOURNMENT OF CLOSED SESSION

Motion to adjourn closed session was made by Jean Maurice Boyer, seconded by Jeff Spoehr, and carried by unanimous vote. The closed session adjourned at 7:44 p.m.

Diane Haug Board Secretary/Deputy Clerk Jeff Spoehr Board Clerk